About Augusta


Richmond County and the City of Augusta, Georgia consolidated government operations in 1996.

Large image - desktop Large image - mobile

The consolidated government consists of a mayor and 10 commissioners. Eight commissioners represent specific districts, while the other two represent super districts that represent half of the county's population respectively. Information about city and county services can be accessed from www.augustaga.gov.

Also within Richmond County, the independent cities of Hephzibah and Blythe have their own municipal governments, although some services are provided by the consolidated Augusta-Richmond County government.

Other county governments surrounding Richmond County and the City of Augusta are: Columbia County, McDuffie County, Jefferson County, and Burke County. The Savannah River separates Augusta, Georgia from Aiken County, South Carolina.